A weekend of intense game making

IGDA_M_Spotlight_feat_banner

This July we are featuring one of the rising stars of the local game industry: Kuyi Mobile! If the name sounds familiar to you, then you probably know their hit game, Streetfood Tycoon and its sequel, Streetfood Tycoon: World Tour available now on App Store and Google Play. We are honored to have them as our first Spotlight developer.

CAN YOU TELL US A BIT ABOUT KUYI MOBILE?

Kuyi Mobile has been pretty much a one-man team since I started about 4 years ago and that’s me.  I’ve been doing everything from design to programming to marketing and even operations.  Last year though, I started forming my own team and hired one more artist and programmer to help me with in-house projects and updates.

IMG_0713 (1)

Erick Garayblas of Kuyi Mobile

WHERE DOES THE NAME ‘KUYI’ COME FROM?

Most people think that Kuyi Mobile is a Japanese-owned company but the truth is, “Kuyi” is the name of my pet cat. I just love cats. iOS game development began as a hobby for me and I never imagined it would someday grow into something huge which is why I named it after my pet.  I would’ve named it differently if I only knew–maybe something weirder or geekier. 🙂

WHAT OTHER GAMES DO YOU OFTEN FIND YOURSELF PLAYING NOWADAYS, JUST FOR FUN?

I play a lot of games, mostly mobile. I’m currently hooked on Animal Crossing: New Leaf (add me up if you wanna play!) and I play a few rounds of Magic: The Gathering on my iPad everyday. Part of my job (and routine) is to try new games for iOS and Android everyday so that I can update myself on what’s current out there.

WHAT IS THE TOUGHEST ASPECT OF BEING A DEVELOPER OUTSIDE OF CREATING THE GAME ITSELF?

In my experience, the business side of things is a lot tougher than creating fun games.  It’s a tough competition out there and having a good product is only half the battle if you want to be successful.  Coming up with launch strategies, marketing gimmicks, promotions and partnering with the right people can be more stressful and time consuming.

IMG_0308 (1)

CAN YOU TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT THE FIRST GAME YOU DEVELOPED?

My first game (and still my favorite) is a simple card/solitaire game called “Card Drop“.  I call it “solitaire on steroids” because it’s a fast paced solitaire game.  I developed Card Drop for about 4 months to test the waters on iOS app development.  Little did I know that this small game will pave the way for me to create more and even bigger games.  It was featured by Apple upon release and raked in a lot of revenue that I thought I really hit a gold mine! It “encouraged” me to develop another game only to realize that getting featured was a once in a lifetime opportunity and doesn’t happen every time I would release something. 🙂 

WHEN DID YOU START RELEASING GAMES UNDER KUYI MOBILE?

I put up Kuyi Mobile on July 2009 and have done a number of iOS and Android games ever since.

HOW MANY GAMES HAVE YOU LAUNCHED?

I already have 8 titles under Kuyi Mobile but I’ve done several more for “friends” and “partners” when I was starting.  I will be releasing my 9th game on August, if things go as planned. I partnered with Ryan Sumo on this one and it’s been a blast working with him and finally having someone to work with for a change. 🙂

Kuyi Mobile’s hit series, Streetfood Tycoon

IF YOU COULD MAKE ONE GAME GENRE DISAPPEAR FOREVER, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

This is a tough one. I’m afraid I’ve played a game from almost every genre and never got bored with any so I don’t think I’d like one to disappear, sorry. 🙂

STARTING A PROJECT IS, MORE OFTEN THAN NOT, EASIER THAN COMPLETING IT. SO HOW DO YOU GUYS DO IT?

I couldn’t agree more. Sharing with you a couple of tips to help get you to the finish line–

a)       Keep it short and simple. Embark on 2-3 month projects. Focus on the core game mechanics and expand later on if you have time.

b)      Work on games that you love.

c)       Have personal deadlines and stick with them.

d)      Discipline is the key. Figure out the things that will help you be more productive–work outside, work with music, join co-working spaces, work at the beach, etc.

ANY ADVICE FOR NEW DEVELOPERS?

Experience will always be the best teacher so start early if you can. The earlier you begin, the faster you fail which usually translates to more lessons learned. Be resilient. Don’t let one failure discourage you from achieving your dreams. Start small and think BIG. Now is a great time to be small yet still make it big.

— — — —

And that’s it from Kuyi Mobile! Next week on Spotlight we are featuring a solo developer with a number of games on Newgrounds. See ya!

If you like to us feature you or someone you know in future Spotlight posts, just email Jay at [jay.gavarra@gmail.com]. 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

